Skip to content

Totally not cool

March 31, 2010

I just got to my gpa’s farm in South Dakota.  He’s 95 now, in pretty good health, but has some memory problems.  Whenever I come to visit, I expect to introduce myself just about every day.  But it puts my gpa on his best behavior since I’m ‘company’.  This is my 6th trip out here since I started my nomadic lifestyle nearly 2 years ago, so I’m used to the routine.  Today, when I walked in the front door, I asked my gpa if he remembered me.  He said no, so I said “I’m Randy.  I’m Florence’s son.”  He said, “I thought you were going to say you were Mike.”  Not cool.  Mike is my older brother who lives in Shanghai China.  He’s been here exactly one time in the past 2 years (for my gma’s funeral).  How does HE rate a memory? 

At least I’m here before mosquito season this time.  The BIG suckers here scare me.

No comments yet

Leave a comment